Tag: Review

Voodoo Part Deux

Reviews of Voodoo #1 keep rolling in, so here’s an update with more links. I’m sure I didn’t get all of them, so please forgive any, uh, missing links. But these are the ones I found, both positive and negative (though I’m pleased to say generally more positive than negative).

  1. Heretical Jargon: http://hereticaljargon.com/2011/10/01/voodoo-1-review/
  2. Talking Comic Books: http://talkingcomicbooks.com/2011/09/review-voodoo-1/#more-416
  3. My Geeky Geeky Ways: http://www.mygeekygeekyways.com/2011/10/voodoo-1-review.html
  4. Grumpy Old Fan at CBR: http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2011/09/grumpy-old-fan-new-52-week-4-across-the-finish-line/
  5. Inside Pulse: http://insidepulse.com/2011/10/02/review-voodoo-1-by-ron-marz-and-sami-basri/
  6. Cross Hatchings at CBR: http://goodcomics.comicbookresources.com/2011/10/01/cross-hatchings-for-october-2011/
  7. Greg Burgas at CBR: http://goodcomics.comicbookresources.com/2011/10/02/greg-reviews-every-single-new-dc-comic/
  8. Read/Rant: http://readrant.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/review-voodoo-1/
  9. Graphic Policy: http://graphicpolicy.com/2011/10/02/comic-book-weekly-reviews-%E2%80%93-92811-dcnu-week-4/
  10. Eye on Comics: http://www.eyeoncomics.com/?p=2163
  11. Bureau 42: http://www.bureau42.com/view/10228/new-52-review-voodoo-1
  12. Indie Wire: http://blogs.indiewire.com/shadowandact/archives/2011/10/02/voodoo_comic_book_debuts_with_controversy_and_the_fury_of_firestorm_instant/#
  13. Multiversity Comics: http://www.multiversitycomics.com/2011/10/dcnu-weekly-review-round-up-week-four.html
  14. The Verbal Mosh: http://www.theverbalmosh.com/2011/10/digital-review-voodoo-1.html?spref=tw
  15. Cosmic Treadmill: http://cosmictreadmill.co.uk/?p=986
  16. Broken Frontier: http://www.brokenfrontier.com/reviews/p/detail/voodoo-1
  17. Pipeline at CBR: http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=34722

Cheers,

Ron


Artifacts #5 Scorecard


Artifacts #5 hit stores the end of January, and here’s ourusual review scorecard. The issues marks Whilce Portacio’s debut as artist, taking over on the second arc after Michael Broussard’s start turn on the first arc. I’m pretty biased, but this is some of my favorite Whilce work ever. Wait ’til you see the epic fight that takes place in issue #6.

I also want to direct you toward a new podcast called “Doughnuts and Top Cow,” which is currently examining each issue of Artifacts. The episodes can be found here.

Comic Geek Speak’s episode 1009 also takes on Artifacts #5. Give a listen.

  1. IGN: http://comics.ign.com/articles/114/1146370p1.html
  2. Weekly Comic Book Review: http://weeklycomicbookreview.com/2011/02/01/artifacts-5-review/#more-16571
  3. Comic Attack: http://comicattack.net/2011/01/artifacts5rev/
  4. Musings from the Lion City: http://hardhitting-nobs.blogspot.com/2011/01/comics-this-week_29.html
  5. Behold the Geek: http://beholdthegeek.blogspot.com/2011/01/my-week-in-comics-january-28-2011.html?spref=tw
  6. Cedar Rapids Examiner: http://www.examiner.com/comic-books-in-cedar-rapids/the-comic-haul-for-the-week-of-january-26th-2011
  7. Geek With Curves: http://geekfemme.blogspot.com/2011/01/quickie-reviews-illyria-3-artifacts-5.html
  8. Tales from the Watercooler podcast: http://www.comicrelated.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=9971
  9. SciFi Pulsehttp://scifipulse.net/?p=41193
  10. Graphic Policy: http://graphicpolicy.com/2011/02/14/review-artifacts-5/
  11. Hollywood Jesus: http://live.hollywoodjesus.com/?p=7142
  12. Image Addictionhttp://imageaddiction.net/?p=2539

Holy day

Magdalena #1 hits stores this week. I think it’s a pretty sweet book, but I’m probably a little biased. So maybe I’ll just leave it at saying Magdalena #1 is a book that I’m proud of, and I hope you pick up a copy. Putting a new title on the stands is always a risk, even more so if it’s not a Big Two title. I’d like to write Magdalena for years, but the only way that happens is if we sell enough copies to justify its existence.

I’ve previously linked to Magdalena preview pages and interviews. With the book debuting today, a few more have gone up.

Here’s a video interview that Sara Lima of Comic Vine conducted with me and artist Nelson Blake 2nd at C2E2.

And a podcast interview with Josh Flanagan of iFanboy:

Early reviews have also started to appear online, and I know a few more are due soon. The first batch:

  1. Multiversity Comics: http://www.multiversitycomics.com/2010/04/advance-review-magdalena-1.html
  2. Comic Addiction: http://www.thecomicaddiction.com/reviews/2010/4/21/magdalena-1.html
  3. Broken Frontier: http://brokenfrontier.com/reviews/p/detail/the-magdalena-1
  4. Cosmic Book News: http://www.cosmicbooknews.com/reviews/magdalena1_review/
  5. Graphic Policy: http://graphicpolicy.com/2010/04/21/review-magdalena-1/
  6. Newsarama: http://www.newsarama.com/comics/Magdalena-1-review-100421.html
  7. Weekly Crisis: http://www.weeklycrisis.com/2010/04/magdalena-1-review.html
  8. Geeks of Doom: http://geeksofdoom.com/2010/04/21/comic-review-the-magdalena-1/
  9. Omnicomic: http://www.omnicomic.com/2010/04/review-magdalena-1.html
  10. Comic Vine : http://www.comicvine.com/news/review-the-magdalena-1/140971/
  11. Pendragon’s Post: http://pendragonspost.blogspot.com/2010/04/comic-review-magdalena-1-top-cow.html
  12. The Weekly Crisis: http://www.weeklycrisis.com/2010/04/comic-book-review-power-rankings-for_22.html
  13. Quarter Bin: http://thequarterbin.com/2010/04/23/magdalena-1-2/
  14. Crave Online : http://www.craveonline.com/entertainment/comics/article/the-magdalena-1-review-100759
  15. Geek Week : http://www.geekweek.com/2010/04/comic-book-author-ron-marz-has-done-something-quite-interesting-with-his-latest-series-for-top-cow-magdalena-marz-has.html
  16. Comic Attack: http://comicattack.net/2010/04/magdalena1/
  17. Gaming Angels: http://www.gamingangels.com/2010/04/guest-review-magdalena-1/
  18. NEW Newsarama again: http://www.newsarama.com/comics/best-shots-comic-reviews-100426.html

I found the Multiversity reviewer’s comparison of Magdalena to Buffy the Vampire Slayer interesting. I expect there are similarities, but as I said on Twitter, I’ve never actually seen an episode of Buffy in my life. I can definitely say there won’t be any romances with vampires in Magdalena. In fact, no vampires at all … at least until issue #7.

Cheers,

Ron


  • Featured Content

  • Mail Marz

  • Ramblin’ Ron @Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Categories

  • Copyright © 1996-2010 Messages from Marz. All rights reserved.
    iDream theme by Templates Next | Powered by WordPress