Voodoo #1 hit stores Wednesday. The hysterics about it started last week, before anyone had even read the issue. Now that it’s out, and in people’s hands, the reactions have been all over the map.

Review links are below, if you’d care to peruse. I’m really pretty fascinated by the diverse reactions: two people read the same issue, and each comes away with a drastically different view of what was just read. Doesn’t make either on right or wrong — ultimately, any of it is just one person’s opinion. We all bring our experiences and predilections to the table with us, whether we want to admit it or not.

And really, that’s fine. Not every book is for every reader, nor should it be. As I’ve said before, comics are not a one-size-fits-all medium. Thanks to everyone who picked up Voodoo and gave it a chance.

  1. IGN: http://comics.ign.com/articles/119/1196930p1.html
  2. Captain Comics: http://captaincomics.ning.com/profiles/blogs/52-reviews-52-part-four
  3. Comic Vine: http://www.comicvine.com/voodoo-/37-293584/staff-review/
  4. The Fandom Post: http://www.fandompost.com/2011/09/28/voodoo-1-review/
  5. Wildstorm Addiction: http://www.wildstormaddiction.com/2011/09/voodoo-1/
  6. The Review Sofa: http://thereviewsofa.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/comics-review-voodoo-1/
  7. Cosmic Book News: http://comics.cosmicbooknews.com/content/voodoo-1
  8. iFanboy: http://ifanboy.com/articles/reviews-dc-comics-52-pick-up-week-four/
  9. Multiversity Comics: http://www.multiversitycomics.com/2011/09/review-voodoo-1.html
  10. Newsarama: http://www.newsarama.com/comics/best-shots-rapid-reviews-110929.html
  11. NY Times: http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/09/29/rating-the-no-1s-aquaman-flash-and-more/
  12. USA Today: http://www.usatoday.com/life/comics/story/2011-09-29/Grading-Week-4-of-DC-Comics-New-52-relaunch/50607686/1
  13. Grumpy Old fan: http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2011/09/grumpy-old-fan-new-52-week-4-across-the-finish-line/
  14. Comic Book Resources: http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=user_review&id=3971
  15. Panels on Pages: http://panelsonpages.com/?p=43884
  16. All Things Fun vidcast: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzRcT0v5LjI&feature=share
  17. A Comic Book Blog: http://acomicbookblog.com/2011/09/voodoo-1-review/
  18. Major Spoliers: http://www.majorspoilers.com/new-52-review-voodoo-1
  19. Forever Geek: http://www.forevergeek.com/2011/09/the-voodoo-that-you-do/
  20. The Occult Detective: http://authorbobfreeman.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/scoring-the-final-week-of-dcs-new-52-1s/
  21. MTV Geek: http://geek-news.mtv.com/2011/09/29/new-52-reviews-all-star-western-voodoo-i-vampire-and-the-fury-of-firestorm/
  22. i09: http://io9.com/5844876/dc-relaunch-snap-judgments-week-4-alien-burlesque-and-angry-cowboys

Cheers,

Ron