Get thee to a comic store today! Angelus #4 and Velocity #1 both appear in shops today. If you didn’t catch the previews for each, you can still do so. The Velocity preview is here

And the Angelus preview is here.

There also a Velocity interview with me, by Josh Wigler, at CBR here.

Velocity is the payoff to the character’s win in Top Cow’s first Pilot Season contest. I didn’t write that Pilot Season one-shot, and Kenneth Rocafort didn’t draw it. “Creative differences” led to the departure of that creative team from the ensuing mini-series. Eventually, the assignment was offered to me, and then Kenneth’s schedule opened up enough for him to sign on. I’m really pleased with the finished product, thanks to Kenneth’s amazing work. And it gets even better. Trust me, there’s a spread in issue #2 that is just stunning.

The critical reaction to Velocity has been very gratifying thus far. I set out to tell an accessible superhero story – a fun story – that wasn’t mired in continuity or over-the-top, get-your-heart-ripped-out violence. If the reviews are any indication, we at least got close to that mark. A sampling:

  1. Graphic Policy: http://graphicpolicy.com/2010/06/29/review-velocity-1/
  2. iFanboy: http://www.ifanboy.com/content/articles/REVIEW__Velocity__1
  3. Newsarama: http://www.newsarama.com/comics/best-shots-advance-reviews-100629.html
  4. Battlemouth: http://www.battlemouth.com/2010/06/29/im-in-love-with-a-girl-called-velocity/
  5. Multiversity Comics: http://www.multiversitycomics.com/2010/06/advance-review-velocity-1.html
  6. ComicNews: http://comicnews.info/?p=11184
  7. Player Affinity: http://playeraffinity.com/comic-reviews/Top-Cow-Velocity-1.html
  8. First Comics News: http://www.firstcomicsnews.com/?p=9775
  9. Ideology of Madness: http://ideologyofmadness.com/archives/13427
  10. Hollywood Jesus: http://live.hollywoodjesus.com/?p=5775
  11. Geekvine: http://www.geekvine.net/2010/06/this-week-in-comics-for-63010/
  12. Quarter Bin: http://thequarterbin.com/2010/06/30/velocity-1-2/
  13. League of Comic Geeks: http://leagueofcomicgeeks.com/review/12/velocity-1
  14. CBR: http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=user_review&id=2387
  15. Broken Frointier: http://www.brokenfrontier.com/reviews/p/detail/velocity-1
  16. Newsarama/Best Shots Rapid Reviews: http://www.newsarama.com/comics/best-shots-rapid-reviews-100701.html
  17. True Believer : http://truebelieverreviews.com/wordpress/?p=265#more-265
  18. Comic Attack : http://comicattack.net/2010/07/velocity1rev/
  19. Comics Bulletin: http://www.comicsbulletin.com/reviews/127817683364489.htm
  20. Comic Related: http://comicrelated.com/news/7180/velocity-1
  21. Newsarama’s Best Shots … Again : http://www.newsarama.com/comics/best-shots-comic-reviews-100705.html
  22. Comic Vine : http://www.comicvine.com/news/review-velocity-1/141532/
  23. Panels on Pages : http://panelsonpages.com/?p=25557

Cheers,

Ron





Angelus #4 Preview